Drawn to Silver
Mining in the Providence Mountains began during
the 1860s and 1870s with a few small camps. The
Trojan Mining District, also known as the Providence
District, consisted of several silver claims organized
in April of 1880, with the first major boom at the
Bonanza King Mine not far from here. Near the
Bonanza King the town of Providence was
established in 1882 with a bunkhouse, mess hall,
commissary, post office, and a superintendent's
The Bonanza King proved to be a rich mine,
and by 1890 there were 119 residents of Providence.
Mines in the area were more active and in higher
production in the early 1900s than at any other time.
But today scars on the desert and a few old timbers
are all that remain of the town.
Burros - Solitary miners
used these rugged animals
for any mining activity that
required pulling or carrying
heavy loads. Wild burros may
still be seen in this area.
Freight Wagons -
Often linked together,
drawn by mules or oxen,
these wagons carried ore
to the stamp mill or the
Stamp Mills - This
noisy machine crushed
metal-bearing rock so the
gold and silver could be
Tent Cities - Rough
camps close to the mine
housed the workers.
Windmills - These
provided a substance
more precious to life than
gold or silver - water.