First called Johnsonville, Bear Valley had a population, of
3,000, including Chinese, Cornish and Mexicans. During 1850-60
when Col. John C. Fremont's elegant hotel, Oso House, built
with lumber brought around the Horn, no longer stands.
After fire in 1888, structures were rebuilt. Some still
standing are Bon Ton Saloon, Trabucco store, Odd Fellows
Hall, school house & remains of jail. All reminders of
Bear Valley's Colorful past.
Dedicated April 20, 1985
Matuca Chapter 1849 E Clampus Vitus