George W. Coulter started a tent store here, early
in 1850, to supply hundreds of miners working the
rich placers of Maxwell, Boneyard and Black Creeks.
The settlement was called Banderita, from the flag
flying over Coulter's store. A post office established
in 1853 was called Maxwell Creek, but changed the
following year to honor Coulter. The first stamp
mill for crushing quartz ore was built by Andrew
Goss. Quartz mines, nearby, under crude methods, with
wood for fuel, operated for years producing millions.
Coulter built the first hotel and water for it was
pumped from a well by two Newfoundland dogs.
Francisco Bruschi erected the first permanent
building and his family became leading merchants for
over eighty years.