This eight-ton, short-wheel base, wood-
burning locomotive, built by the H.K.
Porter Co. of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, was
delivered to the Merced Mining Company
of Coulterville in 1897. All of "Billy's"
active life was spent hauling gold-bearing
quartz ore over the narrow-guage tracks
from the Mary Harrison Mine, south of town,
to the Potosi stamp mill, west of town - a
distance of about four miles. Abandoned
in 1904, it was resurrected in the mid 1930's,
and placed here for all to see and enjoy.
Further information on "Billy" may be
obtained inside the history center.